HU EXCLUSIVE With TheBulBey Featuring a BONUS Freestyle!

BeyGrowing up in Philadelphia, you’re bound to become aware of  a variety of slang terms that would only be familiar to you if you were born & raised in Philly. More specifically, the term “bul” which most often refers to a boy or a young man is definitely one of the most common pronouns that is used to acknowledge a young male. One “bul” who takes great pride in this term in particular is Amir  Bey Richardson, AKA “The Bul Bey”. Bey is a 25-year old rapper from West Philadelphia who reps super hard for his city. Bey is a very influential rapper with a positive outlook on life and is pretty confident about his contribution to the music industry.

Bey HU Since 2008, Bey has been writing and recording music trying to follow in the footsteps of some of his biggest musical influences like Jay-Z, but it wasn’t until a couple years ago when he started recording with a production company called “The Product Entertainment” (TPE) that he began to get recognition for his talent in music. 

“The Product Entertainment is the reason why I am recording and pursuing this dream of mine. I’ve always had it in the back of my mind like, ‘I can be a rapper. I can be an MC & do music’, but I was always timid and I always had people around me that second-guessed me & because of that I second-guessed myself.”

Bey 2

That all changed once Mr. Michael Perry, the mastermind behind The Product Entertainment, put him on the spot and listened to him spit & evidently gave him the courage to keep doing his thing and to stay focused in music. One of the greatest advantages for musicians from Philly is all the love and the support that they receive from fans around the city as well as the fact that there are so many different places to showcase musical talent. Philly is so open to music that they’ll even turn out a typical local coffee shop and have artists and musicians performing there on a regular basis. However, Bey has already performed at a number of well-known venues like the Legendary Dobbs, Fourth & South, and even Club Fluid, which is now history since unfortunately it closed down permanently. As of lately, Bey is working on putting out his next project called “Shaking Hands and Kissing Babies” which is not exactly conceptual, but is one of his mantras. But you have to admit, It’s quite a unique name for what he describes as a basic concept .

“It’s not really a conceptual project, it’s more of a mindset that I haven’t been able to put my finger on until now & I’ve been doing it ever since I’ve been pursuing music. Day to day I’ve been giving people reasons to listen to me. I’ve been campaigning & walkin’ around talking to people, basically shaking hands and kissing babies.”

Bey 3 Despite his love for Philly, Bey still aspires to expand outside of the realm of Philadelphia to pursue his musical career and take his talents on the road with the help of his city and support from the whole TPE team. 

Watch the Exclusive Interview With TheBulBey

HU Bey interview

BONUS FREESTYLE !

Bey Freestyle

View More Photos of TheBulBey HERE